Geography

We are Britain



Year 1



Key Vocabulary

| Rey vocabulary | |
|----------------|---|
| WORD | DEFINITION |
| Capital city | A capital is a city where a region's |
| | government is located. |
| Characteristic | A special quality or trait that makes a |
| | place different from others. |
| Compass | A tool for finding direction. |
| Country | A country is land that is controlled by |
| | a single government. |
| Flag | A symbol which represents a country |
| | or place. |
| Мар | A drawing of all or parts of the Earth |
| | and shows where things are. |
| Sea | A body of salt water not as large as an |
| | ocean and often nearly surrounded by |
| | land. |
| Town | A place with many streets and |
| | buildings where people live and work |

Key Knowledge and facts

- The United Kingdom is made up of four countries; England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.
- The capital city of England is London.
- The capital city of Wales is Cardiff.
- The capital city of Scotland is Edinburgh.
- The capital city of Northern Ireland is Belfast.
- There are four seas that surround the United Kingdom; English Channel, North Sea, Irish Sea and the Atlantic Ocean.
- Ilkley is a town in the United Kingdom.
- A compass shows North, East, South and West.

Maps of the countries and seas





Compass



The flags and flowers of the United Kingdom countries













Northern Ireland



